Partner offer: the Free Gold & Silver IRA Info Kit from Augusta Precious MetalsGet it free

Gold IRA Research and Data

Updated October 29, 2026Facts checked against sources on October 29, 2026

The short answer

This section holds our original reports on the Gold IRA market. Each report shows what we counted, which pages we opened, on what date, and what the numbers cannot tell you. Reports describe disclosure and facts. They do not rank companies, score them or recommend one, and they predict no prices.

This section is for readers who want evidence, not opinion. Our Gold IRA guide explains the rules. These reports look at what companies and agencies actually publish, and show the counting behind every statement.

What reports are published?

ReportWhat it coversLast verified
State of Gold IRA Fee DisclosureCounts of how 16 reviewed companies disclose fees, minimums, custodians, depositories, markups and buyback terms on their own websitesOctober 23, 2026

We list a report here only after it has been checked. If we cannot build a study properly from data we collected and can show the method for, we do not publish it.

What did our first report find?

Our fee disclosure report counts what 16 reviewed companies publish on their own websites. It found that 6 of the 16 put dollar amounts for IRA account or storage fees on their current pages, and that 4 of those 6 give figures that differ between their own pages. Eleven name at least one custodian, 14 name a depository, and 3 publish a markup or spread range.

These counts describe only the 16 companies we reviewed. They are not industry percentages. For example, 6 of 16 is 37.5% of our reviewed set. It says nothing about the share of all Gold IRA companies. The report also counts disclosure, not price: a company can publish a fee schedule and still charge more than one that does not.

What public data sits behind our other pages?

Some pages on this site are built around dated figures from agencies. The table shows where each one comes from and when we last checked it. Open the page for the sources and method.

PageWhat it holdsSource typeLast verified
FTC older consumers fraud reportFraud losses reported by people 60 and olderFTC report to CongressOctober 22, 2026
Gold IRA fee databasePublished fees, side by side, with flags where a fee is not on fileCompany, custodian and depository pagesOctober 17, 2026
Historical gold pricesGold price data summarized by year, with methodPublished price seriesOctober 26, 2026
Regulatory and tax updatesDated IRS limit changes and enforcement releasesAgency pagesOctober 24, 2026

One example of the kind of figure we cite: the FTC's October 19, 2026 report says "Reported losses from people 60 and older totaled over $3 billion, up from about $2.4 billion in 2024." The same report says "the vast majority of frauds are not reported to the government," so these numbers "likely include only a fraction of older adults harmed by fraud," according to the FTC report. A reported figure is a floor, not a full count.

The same report gives the size of the sample behind that figure. About 469,597 of the reports that included age information came from people 60 and older, and about 123,000 of those reports said money was lost. We quote these counts as the FTC states them; they are reports, not a count of all victims.

Where can you look up public records yourself?

You do not have to rely on any website, including ours. These agency tools are free, and each has limits you should know before you search.

ToolWhat it coversA limit to keep in mind
CFPB Consumer Complaint DatabaseComplaint data the CFPB publishes without information that directly identifies the personThe page we read does not say whether complaints are verified, so treat a complaint as one consumer's account
FINRA BrokerCheckRegistrations and disciplinary information for brokers and brokerage firms, plus basic information on investment advisers"BrokerCheck does not disclose information that investment professionals have not reported or are not required to report." The tool also links to arbitration awards and unpaid customer arbitration awards
SEC Action LookupPeople the SEC has taken action against in federal court or administrative proceedingsResults cover limited date ranges and exclude cases still pending, and the site advises against relying on it alone
CFTC precious metals fraud pageWarnings, case examples and links for checking dealers and professionalsIt says "Retail coin dealers generally are not regulated by state or federal authorities." It points readers to the attorney general in the dealer's home state and to the IRS list of approved nonbank trustees and custodians

A search that finds nothing is not proof a company is clean. It may only mean nothing was reported to that agency. On October 29, 2026 we re-opened the FTC, FINRA and CFTC pages above. We did not re-open the CFPB, SEC Action Lookup, Augusta and Priority Gold pages that day, so statements about them rest on our October 17 and 22 checks. Our guide to how to verify a dealer walks through these checks step by step.

Which reports are not published yet?

A planned report on dealer premiums is not live. When we tried to collect dealer prices on October 17, 2026, most product pages we looked at showed "call for price" or quote-only wording, or showed no time stamp on the metal price. Without comparable, dated prices from the same hour on the same basis, a premium comparison would be misleading, so we published nothing. We will add it only if we can collect data we can show the method for.

How do we do research?

Five-step flow: open company and agency pages and note the date, count only what the pages show, write the method and limits, have a separate reviewer check every cited page, then publish. A side path shows that no report is published if the data cannot be collected or checked.

Every report follows the same short rules.

  1. Stated scope. We say exactly what was counted and what was left out.
  2. Pages we opened. Company statements come from the company's own pages, such as the Augusta FAQ or a dealer's fee article like Priority Gold's. We label them as company claims, not independent facts.
  3. Dates. Each source carries the date we opened it. Websites change, so the date matters.
  4. Method and limits. Each report has a method section and a limits section. Counts describe the companies we reviewed, not the whole market.
  5. No rankings. We do not rank, score or name a winner, and we do not make price predictions.
  6. Independent check. A separate reviewer opens the cited pages and rechecks the numbers before a report goes live; a fix made after that check is not always checked a second time.

Where else can you look?

Use our calculators and tools to run your own numbers, and our regulatory and tax updates for dated changes from the IRS and other agencies. Each report shows the dates we checked its sources. Our corrections policy explains how to report an error.

Guides in this section

Sources

  1. Augusta Precious Metals FAQ, Augusta Precious Metals. Accessed Invalid Date.
  2. Gold IRA Fees: A Line-by-Line Cost Breakdown at $50,000 and $100,000, Priority Gold. Accessed Invalid Date.
  3. Consumer Complaint Database (how the CFPB shares complaint data), Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Accessed Invalid Date.
  4. BrokerCheck FAQ, FINRA. Accessed Invalid Date.
  5. Precious Metals Frauds, Commodity Futures Trading Commission. Accessed Invalid Date.
  6. SEC Action Lookup, Investor.gov (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission). Accessed Invalid Date.
  7. Protecting Older Consumers 2025-2026 (report to Congress, October 19, 2026), Federal Trade Commission. Accessed Invalid Date.

This guide is general education, not personalized financial, tax or legal advice. See our financial disclaimer, editorial policy and advertising disclosure.

Free Gold & Silver IRA Info KitGet it